The reality of trying for a baby with Endometriosis

Guest blog for Emma’s Diary. Click here to read the entire blog.

My extremely limited school education surrounding sexual health led me to believe that if I had unprotected sex I would become pregnant. I spent years of my life avoiding pregnancy blissfully unaware that becoming, and staying, pregnant was not something that would come easily to me.

I thought I had all the time in the world and that I had the freedom to choose when I wanted children and how many children I wanted.

ā€œYou are most likely infertile.ā€

The words nobody prepared me for.

The words no 21 year old is ready to hear.

Open-mouthed I sat motionless, my stomach doing acrobatics, my tongue wrapped up in knots. I was speechless. I was told that the damage caused to my reproductive organs, particularly my ovaries and fallopian tubes, due to severe Endometriosis was irreversible and that my chances of unassisted conception were extremely low. I was advised that if I wanted a family I shouldnā€™t delay…

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started